JURY REPORT

The Jury of the 5th International Drawing Competition met in Wrocław on 22nd and 23rd November 2012. The first stage the Jury's work was to select these works considered by them to be suitable for inclusion in the Exhibition. 923 works by 347 artists from 23 countries were considered with great attention. At the end of this process 330 works by 188 artists from 19 countries were selected for the Exhibition.

The second stage of Jury's work was to consider all the selected works, and from them to nominate those works to be considered as candidates for an Award. The Jury met on 22nd and 23rd November and the process began with careful discussion regarding the criteria by which the nominated drawings should be considered.

All the artists who have work selected for the Exhibition, and all the artists who have been given an award, should believe that during considerable discussion the merits of all such works received a full and fair consideration, involving many hours of hard work.

In the final stage the Jury made the following Awards:

Grand Prix – The Minister of Culture and National Heritage Award (25 000 PLN)

Toshio Yoshizumi – Japan

The Rector of the Eugeniusz Geppert Academy of Fine Arts and Design in Wrocław Award for beginner artist (8 000 PLN) to be devided equally between Wojciech Domagalski – Poland and Martin Ša'rovec – Czech Republic

Ten Honorable Mentions to be awarded to the following artists:

Janusz Marciniak – Poland Lenka Kahuda Klokočkova – Czech Republic Joanna Janowska- Augustyn – Poland Weronika Luiza Kowalska – Poland Michał Wasiak – Poland Karolina Lizurej – Poland Peter Boué – Germany Magdalena Szczęśniak – Poland Łukasz Gierlak – Poland Paulina Poczęta – Poland

The Jury wishes to record its appreciation of all these whose work has been selected for the Exhibition, and those who have been given an Award. The overall standard of work is considered to have to have been commendably high. The Jury also wishes to record its appreciation of all those involved in the administration of the Competition, with special thanks being given for the professional and careful work of the team who assisted the Jury in their work.

Francisco Laranjo – Portugal Petr Klima – Czech Republic Richard Drury – Great Britain Andrzej Węcławski – Poland Paweł Frąckiewicz – Poland

Wrocław, 23rd November 2012